Simple, Easy Vegetarian Ramen

by zoeibarker

One of our go-to can’t-be-bothered-to-actually-cook meals is my version of vegetarian ramen. It’s cheap and quick and only a couple of ingredients.

It starts with a vegetable broth base and the noodles from the super cheap classic ramen packages. You know the ones – they’re five for a dollar and come in a bunch of flavors. Of course I don’t use the flavor packets and only use the noodles. All that sodium – yuck!

I immediately toss the little silver pouch in the garbage when I open the package. This is me:


(further proof that there is *always* a relevant Gilmore Girls quote)

Instead, I flavor the vegetable broth on my own, adding a little Better Than Bouillon (which is a semi-difficult to find little jar of bouillon-like goo that adds the bold flavor non-vegetarian ramen soups are known for) and some of my own spices and flavorings. Then you can add whatever veggies and a poached egg or whatever you want! I usually use 2 packages of noodles for two people since one never seems like enough for both of us.

 

INGREDIENTS

2 packages of ramen noodles (throw away the flavor packet!)

3 1/2ish cups Vegetable broth

1/2 tsp Better Than Bouillon Vegetable Base (here it is – my Jewel has it, but it can be tricky to find sometimes. You could probably use a bit of any vegetable bouillon)

Onion powder (to taste, but I think I usually use about 1/3-1/2 tsp)

Garlic powder  (same as above, it varies)

Lemon pepper (a few turns of the grinder)

a dash of soy sauce

1/3ish tsp lime juice (if I have it, just to brighten the flavor a bit)

Salt and regular pepper to taste

Optional additional veggies, poached egg, whatever!

 

DIRECTIONS

In a medium pot on medium heat, add the vegetable broth and the Better Than Bouillon — mix a bit so it disperses, but it doesn’t have to be completely dissolved. Add the noodles and turn the heat up a little because we want to bring the pot to a boil. While the pot with the broth and noodles is coming to a boil, I like to add the garlic and onion powders, lemon pepper, dash of soy sauce and regular salt and pepper. When it just comes to a boil, turn off the heat and let it continue cooking on its own for 2 minutes (or until the noodles are soft). As the noodles soften, I stir to break them apart from their condensed square blob. Just before serving, add the dash of lime juice and taste to see if it needs more of anything.

Add veggies or whatever else you want (or leave it plain).

It’s so simple and comforting and fast!

